How To Manually Deactivate A WordPress Plugin

A while ago I installed a WordPress Plugin, which I was using with another installation before. After activating the plugin nothing in my WordPress seemed to work the way it had been working before. Or in other words: all I saw was a white browser-screen 🙁

“So, keep calm…”, I thought to myself. Then I decided to manually deactivate the WordPress plugin. And this is the way I did it:

  • First I connected to my Website with my FTP-client.
  • I changed to my wp-content/plugins directory.
  • I renamed the directory, in which the plugin was stored.
  • Then I called my Website again.
  • DONE! My WordPress installation seemed to work proper again.

By renaming the directory, WordPress wasn’t able to find the plugin anymore and deactivated it automatically.

(Visited 55 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*